The Art of Copying

I don’t know where I heard that it was okay to copy things. I think it was my art teacher, she said that,

 “Copying was a form of appreciation.”

And I agree, it is okay to copy things to an extent. You can not copy things something and call it yours, that’s stealing. But copying things from different places and mashing it together, that’s creating somethings new. When I was in 6th grade I copied my best friends handwriting. I was tired of being told that I had bad handwriting and I liked the way that her handwriting looked, so I copied it. For all of 6th grade we were told that our handwriting looked similar and I played it off, but in 7th grade both of our handwriting had morphed into something new. Her’s took more of a Pre-school teachers style and my was a mix of cursive and print. I had changed it. I think that it is okay to copy, but not to steal. To learn the difference is to succeed in life. There are so many things in the world, to ask for something completely different from everything that is already created is absurd. I’m not saying copy something, change a few words and calling it your’s is alright, or even taking the main idea of someones work is risky because you have to make sure that all other details are different, then you can call it you own. Take Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet and High School Musical for example, to completely different things, or are they.

  • A girl falls in love with a guy
  • They come from different ‘worlds’ that push them apart
  • Friends of the main male character cause distress to the main female character
  • The main couple is together in the end
  • Friends of the main couple work through troubles to become mutual friends for sake of main couple

The main idea of Romeo and Juliet is displayed in HSM but the other details were different. Copy and Change, my man. Copy and Change. It’s the way of the future.

Leave a Reply

